The National Theatre
Drama School

Established in 1935 by revered arts pioneer Gertrude Johnson OBE, The National Theatre Drama School is Australia’s longest-established vocational training organisation for acting and a leading cultivator of stage and screen talent.

Under the inspired leadership of Director of Drama Dr Jo Loth, the School’s teaching faculty of industry experts impart their professional skills and techniques with budding young actors in the heritage listed National Theatre complex in the bayside suburb of St Kilda, Melbourne.

The flagship Diploma of Acting – a three-year full-time qualification – prepares young acting talents for a fulfilling career in front of live audiences and on the big – or small – screen.

Our esteemed alumni comprise Australian stars of stage and screen including Kat Stewart, Richard Cawthorne, Tosh Greenslade, Esther Hannaford, Lawrence Mooney and Geraldine Quinn.

The National Theatre Drama School also offers a suite of regular classes in acting technique for aspiring youth and adults, along with seasonal intensives, specialist workshops and the industry leading bridging program, Foundation in Acting.

Renowned for its industry connections, intimate class sizes, and passion for the craft of acting, The National Theatre Drama School celebrates and champions diversity, while cultivating excellence and authenticity.

We are grateful to our generous benefactors, the Angior Foundation, Cybec Foundation and Tallis Foundation, for their support of the National Theatre Drama School.